Buying guide · Phono preamps
Best phono preamps
Six phono preamps for six setups, picked from the makers’ own spec sheets. First question: does anything between your turntable and your speakers already have one?
No scores, no lab claims. Shop links are plain links; they may earn us a commission later. How we pick
MM, 40 dB · RCA in and out · ground screw · power supply in the box See it at Thomann
MM 40 dB / MC 60 dB · switch on the back · RCA in and out · ground screw See it at Thomann
Four gains 36–72 dB · 100/200 pF and 1 kΩ/400 Ω/100 Ω · subsonic filter · RCA and balanced out See it at iFi
USB to a computer, 16-bit 44.1/48 kHz · gain knob and clip light · headphone monitor · low cut See it at Thomann
MM 39 dB / MC 60 dB, separate inputs · ¼-inch headphone out with volume · subsonic filter See it at Cambridge
Gain knob ±10 dB, clip light · 100 or 200 pF · low cut at 22 Hz · RCA in and out See it at Thomann
First: do you need one at all?
A turntable’s cartridge puts out a tiny signal, and records are cut with the bass turned down and the treble turned up (ART’s manual explains why). A phono preamp fixes both: it amplifies the signal to line level and applies the RIAA playback curve. Exactly one stage in your chain has to do it.
- TurntableCartridge and stylus read the groove. Some turntables have a phono preamp built in.
- Phono preampIn the turntable, the amplifier, the speakers, or a separate box.
- AmplifierInto its line input (AUX, CD, Tape), or powered speakers with the amplifier inside.
- SpeakersOr headphones, from a preamp with a headphone output.
- Turntable with a Phono/Line switchIt has a preamp built in. Set it to Line and plug into any line input: you don’t need a box. Audio-Technica’s AT-LP120XUSB has one: 4 mV out set to PHONO, 240 mV set to LINE (Audio-Technica).
- Amplifier or speakers with a Phono inputThe preamp is in there. Set the turntable to Phono (or turn its preamp off) and plug into that input: you don’t need a box either.
- NeitherBuy a box. It goes between the turntable and a line input: Pro-Ject’s manual says AUX, CD, Tuner, Tape or Video (Pro-Ject).
One preamp, not two. With two phono stages in a row (the turntable’s and the speakers’, or a box into a Phono input) the sound is loud and distorted; with none it is barely audible. Klipsch says to set both the turntable and its speakers to Line to use the turntable’s preamp (Klipsch support); Kanto warns that running both preamps at once can damage its speakers (Kanto). Pro-Ject’s manual: “Do not connect the phono amplifiers output to a phono input” (Pro-Ject).
Our speakers for vinyl guide sorts speakers by exactly this: some have a phono input, some need a preamp from the turntable or a box like these, and passive ones need an amplifier.
MM or MC: which cartridge do you have?
Most cartridges are moving-magnet (MM), says Pro-Ject’s manual. Moving-coil (MC) cartridges put out far less and need more gain; Kanto calls them rare (Kanto). Pro-Ject’s numbers show the gap: its Phono Box gives 300 mV from 3 mV on the MM setting, and from 0.3 mV on the MC setting (Pro-Ject).
- MM, or high-output MCUse an MM input: 47 kΩ, around 40 dB. Pro-Ject puts high-output MC cartridges on its MM setting, and ART tells owners of one “that requires a 47k load” to choose MM (ART).
- Low-output MCNeeds an MC setting with about 60 dB. Cambridge Audio’s MC input is made for 0.3–1 mV cartridges at 100 Ω and 100 pF (Cambridge Audio). Picks 2, 3 and 5 have one.
- Not sure?Look up your cartridge’s model on its maker’s site: the spec sheet gives the type, the output voltage and the load it wants. Kanto suggests the same.
| Preamp | Cartridges | MM gain | MC gain | MM loading | MC loading |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro-Ject Phono Box E | MM | 40 dB | No MC setting | 47 kΩ / 120 pF | No MC setting |
| Pro-Ject Phono Box | MM or MC (switch) | 40 dB | 60 dB | 47 kΩ / 120 pF | 100 Ω / 120 pF |
| iFi ZEN Phono 3 | MM or MC (4 gains) | 36 dB | 48, 60 or 72 dB | 47 kΩ / 100 or 200 pF | 1 kΩ, 400 Ω or 100 Ω |
| ART USB Phono Plus PS | Not named; MM-type input (our reading) | Up to 45 dB | No MC setting | 47 kΩ / 100 pF | No MC setting |
| Cambridge Audio Alva Duo | MM or MC (2 inputs) | 39 dB | 60 dB | 47 kΩ / 100 pF | 100 Ω / 100 pF |
| ART DJ Pre II | Not named; MM-type input (our reading) | Up to 45 dB | No MC setting | 47 kΩ / 100 or 200 pF | No MC setting |
As each maker publishes it, checked 27 Oct 2026. ART names no cartridge type for its two boxes; a 47 kΩ phono input with up to 45 dB of gain is the moving-magnet kind, which is our reading, not ART’s.
Loading: what the cartridge wants
Cartridge makers give a recommended load: a resistance (impedance) and, for MM, a capacitance. Ortofon asks 47 kΩ and 150–300 pF for its 2M Red (Ortofon), and 47 kΩ and 200–600 pF for its Concorde MKII DJ (Ortofon). Most boxes here are fixed: 120 pF on both Pro-Jects, 100 pF on the Alva Duo and the USB Phono Plus PS. The ZEN Phono 3 and the DJ Pre II switch between 100 and 200 pF, and the ZEN Phono 3 also offers 1 kΩ, 400 Ω or 100 Ω for low-output MC.
Reading the spec sheet
Gain
Gain is how much the preamp multiplies the cartridge’s signal, and every maker here states it in decibels. Pro-Ject’s Phono Box E turns 5 mV into 500 mV with 40 dB, its MM setting. Pro-Ject’s manual lists what the wrong setting sounds like: output too quiet or too loud, or distorted, from “input overloading or insufficiently amplified” (Pro-Ject). The two ART boxes have a gain knob with a clip light; the others have fixed settings.
Signal-to-noise: read it the way the maker wrote it
Every maker measures noise differently: A-weighted or not, over what bandwidth, and against what output level. The basis moves the number a lot. iFi gives 91 dB A-weighted and 82 dB unweighted for the same ZEN Phono 3 on MM; Cambridge Audio gives more than 90 dB over 20 Hz–20 kHz and more than 96 dB A-weighted for the Alva Duo. ART measures “below clipping”, from the loudest the box can play, and Pro-Ject gives an A-weighted noise floor with no reference level. So we show each figure with its basis and don’t rank them.
| Preamp | As published | How it was measured |
|---|---|---|
| Pro-Ject Phono Box E | 88 dB (A-weighted) | Noise floor, A-weighted; reference level not stated |
| Pro-Ject Phono Box | MM 94 dB, MC 75 dB (A-weighted) | Noise floor, A-weighted; reference level not stated |
| iFi ZEN Phono 3 | MM 91 dB(A), 82 dB unweighted; MC High 81 dB(A); MC Low 89.6 dB(A); MC Very Low 78.6 dB(A) | A-weighted, and unweighted to 80 kHz; at 1 V from the RCA output or 2 V balanced (manual) |
| ART USB Phono Plus PS | Hum and noise more than 90 dB below clipping | Below clipping (the maximum output), not a fixed reference level; weighting not stated |
| Cambridge Audio Alva Duo | MM >90 dB, MC >70 dB (20 Hz–20 kHz bandwidth); MM >96 dB A-weighted (manual) | Grounded inputs, referred to 1 V output; 20 Hz–20 kHz bandwidth, and A-weighted for MM |
| ART DJ Pre II | Hum and noise more than 90 dB below clipping | Below clipping (the maximum output), not a fixed reference level; weighting not stated |
As each maker publishes it, checked 27 Oct 2026. Within one maker the figures are fairer to compare: Pro-Ject states 88 dB for the Phono Box E and 94 dB for the Phono Box on MM, both A-weighted.
RIAA accuracy
How closely the preamp follows the RIAA playback curve, as a tolerance over a frequency band. Check the band: Cambridge Audio’s starts at 30 Hz, the others at 20 Hz. ART publishes no tolerance, only that its preamps conform to the curve; the frequency response ART lists is a different measurement, so we don’t show it here.
| Preamp | Tolerance, as published | Over |
|---|---|---|
| Pro-Ject Phono Box E | max. 0.5 dB | 20 Hz – 20 kHz |
| Pro-Ject Phono Box | max. 0.5 dB | 20 Hz – 20 kHz |
| iFi ZEN Phono 3 | ±0.15 dB | 20 Hz – 20 kHz |
| ART USB Phono Plus PS | None given: “precisely conforms to the RIAA standard” | No band given |
| Cambridge Audio Alva Duo | ±0.3 dB | 30 Hz – 20 kHz |
| ART DJ Pre II | None given: “conforms to RIAA Curve” | No band given |
As each maker publishes it, checked 27 Oct 2026.
Outputs and extras
Every pick has an RCA line output for an amplifier or powered speakers, and a ground terminal for the turntable’s ground wire, which Pro-Ject’s, ART’s and Cambridge Audio’s manuals say is there against hum. After that they split:
- USB for recording to a computer: the USB Phono Plus PS, at 16-bit and 44.1 or 48 kHz. Some turntables have it built in: Audio-Technica’s AT-LP120XUSB records at the same resolution.
- Headphones: the Alva Duo has a proper headphone output with a volume knob; the USB Phono Plus PS has a ⅛-inch monitor jack for listening while you record.
- Rumble filter: cuts the very low frequencies from warped records and footsteps. The ZEN Phono 3 and both ART boxes have a switch; the Alva Duo has one at 15 Hz with no switch listed.
- Balanced output: only the ZEN Phono 3, as a 4.4 mm socket.
- Mono switch: none of the six lists one.
| Preamp | RCA out | Balanced out | USB | Headphones | Rumble filter | Gain control | Ground |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro-Ject Phono Box E | Yes | No | No | None listed | None listed | None listed | Yes |
| Pro-Ject Phono Box | Yes | No | No | None listed | None listed | MM/MC switch | Yes |
| iFi ZEN Phono 3 | Yes | 4.4 mm | No | None listed | Subsonic, switchable | Four-step switch | Yes |
| ART USB Phono Plus PS | Yes | No | Yes | ⅛-inch, own level | Low cut, 22 Hz | Knob | Yes |
| Cambridge Audio Alva Duo | Yes | No | No | ¼-inch, own volume | Subsonic, 15 Hz | MM/MC switch | Yes |
| ART DJ Pre II | Yes | No | No | None listed | Low cut, 22 Hz | Knob, ±10 dB | Yes |
Read from each maker’s published outputs and controls, checked 27 Oct 2026. “None listed” means the maker lists no such output or control.
Power and what’s in the box
Four of the six run from an outboard adapter: 18 V on both Pro-Jects, 5 V on the ZEN Phono 3, 7–12 V DC or 9–12 V AC on the DJ Pre II. The USB Phono Plus PS runs from the computer’s USB, with an adapter as an option, and the Alva Duo has its power supply inside and takes a mains lead. Only iFi lists an RCA cable in the box; for the others you need your own. ART lists no box contents for the DJ Pre II.
The picks in detail
Each pick says what it suits and what to watch for, using only the published specs below it. Where a maker doesn’t publish a spec, we say so rather than fill it in.
Pick 1 · Simplest box for a moving-magnet cartridge
Pro-Ject Phono Box E
MM only
One input, one output, nothing to set. It takes a moving-magnet cartridge, the most common kind, says Pro-Ject, and turns it into a line signal for an amplifier’s AUX input or a pair of powered speakers without a phono input.
Why it suits this setup
- Nothing to adjust: plug the turntable into In and the Out into a line input such as AUX, CD or Tape, as Pro-Ject’s manual puts it.
- Pro-Ject publishes a full spec table with the basis for each number: 40 dB gain, 500 mV out from 5 mV in, noise 88 dB A-weighted and RIAA accuracy within 0.5 dB from 20 Hz to 20 kHz.
- Screw terminal for the turntable’s ground wire, and the outboard power supply is in the box.
- Small enough to sit next to the turntable: 120 × 32 × 100 mm and 269 g.
Watch out for
- Moving magnet only (and high-output moving coil, says the manual). A low-output moving-coil cartridge needs pick 2 or 3.
- Loading is fixed at 47 kΩ and 120 pF; there is nothing to switch.
- No headphone output, no rumble filter and no USB.
- Pro-Ject lists no RCA cable in the box, only the power supply.
Published specs
- Cartridges
- Moving magnet (MM); the manual adds high-output moving coil
- Gain, as published
- 40 dB (500 mV out at 1 kHz from 5 mV in, typically)
- Loading
- 47 kΩ, 120 pF (no adjustment listed)
- Signal-to-noise, as published
- 88 dB (A-weighted) (Noise floor, A-weighted; reference level not stated)
- RIAA accuracy, as published
- Within 0.5 dB, 20 Hz – 20 kHz
- Inputs
- One RCA pair
- Outputs
- One RCA pair, line level, for an AUX or other line input
- Headphone output
- None listed
- Rumble filter
- None listed
- Controls
- None listed
- Ground terminal
- Screw terminal for the turntable’s ground (earth) wire
- Headroom, as published
- not published
- Power supply
- Outboard 18 V DC power supply (500 mA), included
- Size
- 120 × 32 × 100 mm (W × H × D); 106 mm deep with sockets
- Weight
- 269 g without the power supply
- In the box
- The outboard power supply; Pro-Ject lists nothing else
- Pro-Ject Phono Box E product page: cartridge type, gain, loading, signal-to-noise, RIAA accuracy, inputs, outputs, headphone output (none listed), rumble filter (none listed), controls (none listed), headroom (not published), power supply, size, weight, what’s in the box. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- Pro-Ject Phono Box E instructions (PDF): ground terminal. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
Pick 2 · MM or MC on one switch
Pro-Ject Phono Box
MM or MC
The same idea as the Phono Box E with a second gain setting: a switch on the back picks MM or MC, so it still works if you later fit a low-output moving-coil cartridge. Loading is fixed for each setting.
Why it suits this setup
- Covers both cartridge types: 40 dB for MM and high-output MC, 60 dB for low-output MC, set by a switch on the back.
- Fixed loading that suits the common case: 47 kΩ for MM, 100 Ω for MC, both at 120 pF.
- Measured the same way as the Phono Box E (A-weighted noise floor, RIAA within 0.5 dB from 20 Hz to 20 kHz), so the two Pro-Ject boxes compare fairly: 94 dB against 88 dB on MM.
- Ground screw, gold-plated RCA sockets, and the outboard power supply in the box.
Watch out for
- Switch modes with the power off: the manual says to disconnect it from the power supply and amplifier first.
- No loading choices beyond the two fixed settings, and no rumble filter or headphone output.
- Pro-Ject’s page and its 2013 manual give different currents for the 18 V supply (200 mA and 500 mA). Use the supply that comes with it, as the manual says.
- No RCA cable listed in the box.
Published specs
- Cartridges
- MM or MC, set by a switch on the back; MM mode also suits high-output MC
- Gain, as published
- MM 40 dB, MC 60 dB (300 mV out at 1 kHz from 3 mV MM or 0.3 mV MC, typically)
- Loading
- MM 47 kΩ / 120 pF; MC 100 Ω / 120 pF (fixed for each setting)
- Signal-to-noise, as published
- MM 94 dB, MC 75 dB (A-weighted) (Noise floor, A-weighted; reference level not stated)
- RIAA accuracy, as published
- Within 0.5 dB, 20 Hz – 20 kHz
- Inputs
- One RCA pair
- Outputs
- One RCA pair, line level
- Headphone output
- None listed
- Rumble filter
- None listed
- Controls
- MM/MC switch on the back (set it with the power off)
- Ground terminal
- Screw terminal for the turntable’s ground (earth) wire
- Headroom, as published
- Maximum output 9.5 V at 1 kHz
- Power supply
- Outboard 18 V DC power supply, included (200 mA on the product page, 500 mA in manual revision 2013.1.15)
- Size
- 103 × 36 × 104 mm (W × H × D); 115 mm deep with sockets
- Weight
- 570 g
- In the box
- The outboard power supply; Pro-Ject lists nothing else
- Pro-Ject Phono Box product page: cartridge type, gain, loading, signal-to-noise, RIAA accuracy, headphone output (none listed), rumble filter (none listed), headroom, power supply, size, weight. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- Pro-Ject Phono Box instructions (PDF): inputs, outputs, controls, ground terminal, what’s in the box. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
Pick 3 · MM and MC with loading to choose
iFi ZEN Phono 3
MM or MC, adjustable loading
For a cartridge whose maker asks for a particular load, or if you swap cartridges. Four gain settings from 36 to 72 dB, a separate button for the load, a switchable subsonic filter, and a balanced output as well as RCA.
Why it suits this setup
- Four gain settings (MM 36 dB, MC High 48 dB, MC Low 60 dB, MC Very Low 72 dB), with the load chosen separately: 100 or 200 pF for MM, 1 kΩ, 400 Ω or 100 Ω for low-output MC.
- 200 pF sits inside the 150–300 pF Ortofon recommends for its 2M Red; the Pro-Ject boxes are fixed at 120 pF.
- A subsonic filter with its own on/off switch; iFi says it removes the low rumble of warped records and leaves the bass alone.
- RCA output and a balanced 4.4 mm output, plus a ground terminal. The box has an RCA cable and the 5 V power adapter.
- iFi gives its noise figures with the basis: A-weighted and unweighted (80 kHz bandwidth), at 1 V from the RCA output or 2 V balanced.
Watch out for
- After about 10 minutes the settings lock; the manual says to press the subsonic button briefly to unlock them.
- The balanced output is a 4.4 mm socket, so an amplifier with XLR inputs needs a 4.4 mm-to-XLR cable.
- Thomann doesn’t sell it; the link goes to iFi’s own shop.
- iFi’s product page and manual swap the two frequency-response figures between the outputs; we show neither.
Published specs
- Cartridges
- MM and MC, with four gain settings: MM, MC High, MC Low and MC Very Low
- Gain, as published
- MM 36 dB, MC High 48 dB, MC Low 60 dB, MC Very Low 72 dB (each ±1 dB in the manual)
- Loading
- MM and MC High: 47 kΩ with 100 or 200 pF; MC Low and Very Low: 1 kΩ, 400 Ω or 100 Ω; chosen with its own button, apart from the gain
- Signal-to-noise, as published
- MM 91 dB(A), 82 dB unweighted; MC High 81 dB(A); MC Low 89.6 dB(A); MC Very Low 78.6 dB(A) (A-weighted, and unweighted to 80 kHz; at 1 V from the RCA output or 2 V balanced (manual))
- RIAA accuracy, as published
- Within ±0.15 dB, 20 Hz – 20 kHz
- Inputs
- One RCA pair
- Outputs
- RCA line out and a balanced 4.4 mm line out
- Headphone output
- None listed
- Rumble filter
- Subsonic filter, on/off; iFi says it removes rumble from warped records without cutting the bass
- Controls
- Gain switch, load button, subsonic switch and power switch; settings lock after about 10 minutes
- Ground terminal
- Ground terminal for the turntable’s ground wire
- Headroom, as published
- not published
- Power supply
- 5 V DC power adapter (0.5 A), included
- Size
- 158 × 115 × 35 mm (L × W × H)
- Weight
- 456 g
- In the box
- RCA cable, power adapter, quick start guide and warranty card
- iFi ZEN Phono 3 product page: cartridge type, gain, loading, signal-to-noise, RIAA accuracy, headphone output (none listed), headroom (not published), power supply, size, weight, what’s in the box. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- iFi ZEN Phono 3 user manual (PDF): inputs, outputs, rumble filter, controls, ground terminal. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
Pick 4 · For digitising records over USB
ART USB Phono Plus PS
MM-type input
A phono preamp and a USB sound card in one box, for recording records to a computer. A gain knob and a clip light set the recording level, a headphone jack lets you listen while you record, and the RCA line out works as a normal phono preamp at the same time.
Why it suits this setup
- USB to the computer as a class-compliant sound card, so most systems need no driver; ART’s manual says it comes with a CD-ROM holding the Audacity recording program.
- A Gain Trim knob and a Signal/Clip light to set the level before you record: green most of the time, red only now and then.
- Headphone monitor with its own level knob, switchable between the preamp (no delay), the computer’s playback or both.
- The RCA line out always carries the preamp signal, so it can feed your amplifier while you record.
- Low Cut switch for rumble, a ground terminal, and a Phono/Line switch so tapes or CDs can be recorded too.
Watch out for
- 16-bit at 44.1 or 48 kHz: CD resolution, not 24-bit.
- ART publishes no cartridge type. Its 47 kΩ / 100 pF input and up to 45 dB of gain are moving-magnet values (our reading); there is no MC setting.
- ART calls the external power supply optional (it runs from the computer’s USB). Thomann’s listing says a USB cable and a power supply come with it: check the shop page.
- ART publishes no RIAA tolerance, only that it “precisely conforms to the RIAA standard”.
Published specs
- Cartridges
- Not named by ART: one phono input at 47 kΩ / 100 pF, switchable to line level
- Gain, as published
- Up to 45 dB at 1 kHz (phono), set with the Gain Trim knob
- Loading
- 47 kΩ / 100 pF (no adjustment listed)
- Signal-to-noise, as published
- Hum and noise more than 90 dB below clipping (Below clipping (the maximum output), not a fixed reference level; weighting not stated)
- RIAA accuracy, as published
- “Precisely conforms to the RIAA standard” (no tolerance given)
- Inputs
- One RCA pair, switchable Phono or Line; coaxial S/PDIF and optical digital inputs (to the computer only)
- Outputs
- USB to a computer (class compliant, 16-bit, 44.1 or 48 kHz); RCA line out, always the preamp signal; optical out from the computer
- Headphone output
- ⅛-inch mini-jack monitor output on the front with its own level knob: the preamp, the computer or both
- Rumble filter
- Low Cut switch: −3 dB at 22 Hz
- Controls
- Gain Trim knob with a Signal/Clip light, Phono/Line switch, Low Cut switch, monitor source switch and monitor level knob
- Ground terminal
- Ground terminal on the back for the turntable’s ground wire
- Headroom, as published
- Maximum input 40 mV RMS at 1 kHz (phono); maximum output +6 dBu (1.4 V RMS)
- Power supply
- Powered over USB from the computer; optional external supply, 7–12 V DC or 9–12 V AC
- Size
- 47 × 117 × 114 mm (H × W × D)
- Weight
- 0.61 kg
- In the box
- A CD-ROM with the manual and Audacity recording software; ART lists nothing else
- ART USB Phono Plus PS product page: cartridge type, gain, loading, inputs, outputs, headroom, power supply, size, weight. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- ART USB Phono Plus PS manual (PDF): signal-to-noise, RIAA accuracy, headphone output, rumble filter, controls, ground terminal, what’s in the box. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- Thomann: ART USB Phono Plus PS: the listing says “Includes USB cable” and “Incl. power supply”. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
Pick 5 · With a headphone output: no amplifier needed
Cambridge Audio Alva Duo
MM or MC
A phono preamp with a headphone amplifier built in, so a turntable and a pair of headphones are a complete system. Separate MM and MC inputs with a selector on the front, a balance control, and an RCA output for the hi-fi as well.
Why it suits this setup
- A ¼-inch (6.35 mm) headphone output with its own volume knob; Cambridge Audio recommends headphones of 32 to 600 Ω.
- Separate MM and MC inputs, chosen with a switch on the front: two turntables can stay plugged in.
- Cambridge Audio publishes how it measured noise: grounded inputs, 1 V output, 20 Hz–20 kHz bandwidth, plus an A-weighted figure for MM in the manual.
- Subsonic filter at 15 Hz (−3 dB, 12 dB per octave), a balance control and a ground screw.
- Power supply built in: a mains lead goes in the back, no adapter.
Watch out for
- Fixed loading: 47 kΩ for MM, 100 Ω for MC, 100 pF.
- It switches itself to standby after 20 minutes without use; hold the power button for 5 seconds in standby to turn that off.
- The manual lists no switch for the subsonic filter.
- The biggest box here, 215 mm wide, and no RCA cable in the box. Thomann doesn’t list it; the link goes to Cambridge Audio’s page, which has a retailer finder.
Published specs
- Cartridges
- MM and MC, on separate inputs, chosen with a switch on the front
- Gain, as published
- MM 39 dB, MC 60 dB at 1 kHz (300 mV nominal output from 3.35 mV MM or 305 µV MC)
- Loading
- MM 47 kΩ, MC 100 Ω; 100 pF (fixed)
- Signal-to-noise, as published
- MM >90 dB, MC >70 dB (20 Hz–20 kHz bandwidth); MM >96 dB A-weighted (manual) (Grounded inputs, referred to 1 V output; 20 Hz–20 kHz bandwidth, and A-weighted for MM)
- RIAA accuracy, as published
- ±0.3 dB, 30 Hz – 20 kHz
- Inputs
- Two RCA pairs: one for MM, one for MC
- Outputs
- One RCA pair, line level (not for a phono input)
- Headphone output
- ¼-inch (6.35 mm) jack on the front with its own volume knob; 32–600 Ω headphones recommended
- Rumble filter
- Subsonic filter, −3 dB at 15 Hz, 12 dB per octave (no switch listed)
- Controls
- Cartridge selector, headphone volume and standby on the front; balance control on the back; auto power-down after 20 minutes, which can be turned off
- Ground terminal
- Ground screw for the turntable’s ground lead
- Headroom, as published
- Overload margin more than 30 dB
- Power supply
- Built-in switch-mode power supply, 100–240 V AC mains lead; 10 W maximum, under 0.5 W in standby
- Size
- 48 × 215 × 159 mm (H × W × D)
- Weight
- 0.95 kg
- In the box
- Mains lead for your country, user manual and safety guide; no RCA cable
- Cambridge Audio Alva Duo product page: cartridge type, gain, loading, signal-to-noise, RIAA accuracy, headroom, size, weight, what’s in the box. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- Cambridge Audio Alva Duo manual: inputs, outputs, headphone output, rumble filter, controls, ground terminal, power supply. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
Pick 6 · For a DJ mixer or controller without phono inputs
ART DJ Pre II
MM-type input
A small, rugged box for putting a turntable into a mixer’s or controller’s line inputs. A gain knob with a clip light matches its level to the other channels, a low-cut switch fights rumble from a busy floor, and a capacitance switch suits DJ cartridges that want 200 pF.
Why it suits this setup
- ART’s manual: a separate RIAA preamp “is necessary when you are connecting a turntable to a mixer that does not have one built in”.
- Gain knob that boosts or cuts by up to 10 dB, with a Signal/Clip light: turn it so red only flashes on the loudest parts.
- Low-cut switch (−3 dB at 22 Hz) that ART says stops rumble and skipping “in heavy feet traffic areas”.
- Capacitance switch, 100 or 200 pF: Ortofon recommends 200–600 pF for its Concorde MKII DJ, so 200 pF is the setting to start from.
- Ground terminal, an extruded aluminium case, and RCA outputs for a mixer’s line inputs (a stereo RCA-to-dual-¼-inch cable for jack inputs, says ART).
Watch out for
- ART names no cartridge type. A 47 kΩ input with up to 45 dB of gain is the moving-magnet kind (our reading); there is no MC setting.
- ART lists no box contents. Its manual starts setup with “Connect the AC adapter”, and calls for 7–12 V DC or 9–12 V AC at 150 mA.
- ART gives noise as “more than 90 dB below clipping” and a frequency response, not an RIAA tolerance: neither compares with the other picks’ figures.
- Maximum input 40 mV RMS at 1 kHz.
Published specs
- Cartridges
- Not named by ART: a phono input at 47 kΩ, with 100 or 200 pF
- Gain, as published
- Up to 45 dB at 1 kHz; the knob boosts or cuts by up to 10 dB
- Loading
- 47 kΩ with 100 or 200 pF, switchable
- Signal-to-noise, as published
- Hum and noise more than 90 dB below clipping (Below clipping (the maximum output), not a fixed reference level; weighting not stated)
- RIAA accuracy, as published
- “Conforms to RIAA Curve” (no tolerance given)
- Inputs
- One RCA pair
- Outputs
- One RCA pair, line level
- Headphone output
- None listed
- Rumble filter
- Low-cut switch: −3 dB at 22 Hz
- Controls
- Gain knob with a Signal/Clip light, low-cut switch and capacitance switch
- Ground terminal
- Ground terminal for the turntable’s ground wire
- Headroom, as published
- Maximum input 40 mV RMS at 1 kHz; maximum output +6 dBu (1.4 V RMS)
- Power supply
- External AC adapter: 7–12 V DC or 9–12 V AC at 150 mA
- Size
- 47 × 117 × 114 mm (H × W × D)
- Weight
- 0.57 kg
- In the box
- not published
- ART DJ Pre II product page: cartridge type, gain, loading, inputs, outputs, headphone output (none listed), headroom, power supply, size, weight, what’s in the box (not published). Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- ART DJ Pre II manual (PDF): signal-to-noise, RIAA accuracy, rumble filter, controls, ground terminal. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
- ART DJ Pre II manual (PDF): a separate RIAA preamp is needed for a mixer without one built in; Aux or tape input; RCA-to-dual-¼-inch cable for mixers without RCA inputs; low cut against rumble and skipping. Checked 27 Oct 2026.
Side by side
| Preamp | Cartridges | Gain | Outputs | Rumble filter | Power | Size, as published | Weight | Cable in the box |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro-Ject Phono Box ESimplest MM box | MM | 40 dB | RCA | None listed | Outboard 18 V DC adapter | 120 × 32 × 100 mm (W × H × D) | 269 g | None listed |
| Pro-Ject Phono BoxMM or MC switch | MM or MC (switch) | 40 / 60 dB | RCA | None listed | Outboard 18 V DC adapter | 103 × 36 × 104 mm (W × H × D) | 570 g | None listed |
| iFi ZEN Phono 3Adjustable MM/MC | MM or MC (4 gains) | 36 / 48 / 60 / 72 dB | RCA, balanced 4.4 mm | Subsonic, switchable | 5 V DC adapter | 158 × 115 × 35 mm (L × W × H) | 456 g | RCA cable |
| ART USB Phono Plus PSUSB for digitising | Not named; MM-type input (our reading) | Up to 45 dB, knob | USB, RCA, optical | Low cut, 22 Hz | USB bus power | 47 × 117 × 114 mm (H × W × D) | 0.61 kg | None listed |
| Cambridge Audio Alva DuoHeadphone output | MM or MC (2 inputs) | 39 / 60 dB | RCA | Subsonic, 15 Hz | Built in (mains lead) | 48 × 215 × 159 mm (H × W × D) | 0.95 kg | None listed |
| ART DJ Pre IIDJ setups | Not named; MM-type input (our reading) | Up to 45 dB, ±10 dB knob | RCA | Low cut, 22 Hz | External adapter | 47 × 117 × 114 mm (H × W × D) | 0.57 kg | None listed |
Everything as the maker publishes it, checked 27 Oct 2026. Noise and RIAA accuracy are in the reading section above, because they don’t compare across makers. Makers give sizes in different orders; each is labelled.
How we picked
- One clear setup per pick: an amplifier or powered speakers with no phono input and an MM cartridge, a cartridge that may become MC, a cartridge that wants a particular load, recording records to a computer, listening on headphones, and a DJ mixer with line inputs only.
- Whether you need one first. Then MM or MC, gain and loading, then outputs and extras, power and what comes in the box.
- Specs from the maker. Every number on this page comes from the maker’s product page or manual, checked on 27 Oct 2026 and linked under each pick. Gaps are marked “not published”. Gain, noise and RIAA accuracy are shown with the maker’s own basis.
- On sale today. On 27 Oct 2026 Thomann listed both Pro-Jects and both ARTs in stock. Thomann doesn’t sell the iFi or the Cambridge Audio: iFi’s own shop showed the ZEN Phono 3 in stock, and Cambridge Audio lists the Alva Duo as current with a retailer finder.
We have not listened to or measured these preamps for this guide, and we don’t give scores. Where Max has used one himself, his notes will appear under that pick. The full method is on How we pick.
Not published by the maker:
- Pro-Ject Phono Box E: headroom, the reference level for the noise figure
- Pro-Ject Phono Box: the reference level for the noise figure
- iFi ZEN Phono 3: headroom
- ART USB Phono Plus PS: which cartridge type the phono input is for, the weighting of the noise figure, an RIAA tolerance
- ART DJ Pre II: what’s in the box, which cartridge type the phono input is for, the weighting of the noise figure, an RIAA tolerance
Considered but left out: Rega Fono Mini A2D MK2 (a moving-magnet stage with USB and a front Level knob for recording, but Thomann doesn’t list it, and the ART USB Phono Plus PS adds a gain trim, a clip light and a headphone monitor); Audio-Technica AT-PEQ30 (MM or MC on a switch with fixed gain and loading, the same job as the Pro-Ject Phono Box; Thomann doesn’t list it, and Audio-Technica gives its signal-to-noise ratios without a reference level or weighting); ART Precision Phono Pre (MM or MC with a gain knob, a low cut and two MC loads (24 or 100 Ω); the ZEN Phono 3 offers more loading choices, and we kept ART to two picks); Cambridge Audio Alva Solo (the moving-magnet-only sibling of the Alva Duo, without the headphone output; the Pro-Ject Phono Box E covers the simple MM box here); Schiit Mani 2 (MM or MC with adjustable gain and loading, but Schiit’s product page said “We don’t have a product at that address” on 27 Oct 2026); Pro-Ject Phono Box USB (Pro-Ject’s page for it returned HTTP 410 (gone) on 27 Oct 2026); Behringer PP400 (Thomann’s best seller in this category, but we found no Behringer product page or manual to take its specs from on 27 Oct 2026).
Questions
My turntable has a built-in preamp. Do I need one of these?
No, unless you want to upgrade from it. Set the turntable’s switch to Line and use a line input. If you add a box, set the turntable to Phono so its own preamp is out of the chain: only one stage should do the job.
Can I plug a phono preamp into my amplifier’s Phono input?
No: that puts two phono stages in a row. Pro-Ject’s and Cambridge Audio’s manuals both say not to; use AUX, CD, Tape or another line input.
Can a phono preamp go straight into powered speakers?
Yes, into a line input. iFi says the ZEN Phono 3’s outputs can feed “active speakers or amplifiers that have a volume control” (iFi). Our speakers for vinyl guide covers pairs with and without a phono input.
Can I listen on headphones with just a turntable and a preamp?
With the Alva Duo, yes: it has a headphone amplifier with its own volume knob. The others need an amplifier or a headphone amp after them. Our vinyl headphones guide walks through the same chain with headphones at the end.
Is MC worth it?
That is a question about the cartridge, not the preamp. If you fit a low-output MC cartridge, you need a preamp with an MC setting: picks 2, 3 and 5 here.
What is the ground wire for?
Some turntables have a separate ground wire beside the RCA plugs. All six picks have a terminal for it; Pro-Ject, ART and Cambridge Audio each say to connect it if you hear hum.
Do DJs need a phono preamp?
Not with a DJ mixer that has phono inputs. For a mixer or controller with line inputs only, yes: ART’s manual says a separate RIAA preamp “is necessary when you are connecting a turntable to a mixer that does not have one built in” (ART).
What resolution do I need for digitising records?
The USB Phono Plus PS records at 16-bit, 44.1 or 48 kHz, which is CD resolution. If you want 24-bit files, look for a preamp or audio interface that states it: none of the six does.
Pictures and sources
- The pictures are our own drawings: we found no reuse-licensed photo of any of the six.
- Sources for every spec are linked under each pick. Turntable preamp: Audio-Technica AT-LP120XUSB product page. One preamp, not two: Klipsch support: The Fives, connecting to a turntable, Kanto: how to set up and connect any turntable to Kanto speakers and Pro-Ject Phono Box E instructions (PDF). MM and MC: Pro-Ject Phono Box instructions (PDF), ART Precision Phono Pre manual (PDF) and Cambridge Audio Alva Duo manual. Cartridge loads: Ortofon 2M Red product page and Ortofon Concorde MKII DJ product page. Box contents of the USB Phono Plus PS: Thomann: ART USB Phono Plus PS. All checked 27 Oct 2026.